Entering search

Christian at Kiyomizu-dera

It’s been a busy year, and this blog has definitely suffered. So here’s my first post in a while, and there’s a lot to catch up on: My wife and I welcomed our first child in April, and he’s been a delight—I can’t believe he’s now six months old! My wife started a new job. This summer, I did a 10-week unit of Clinical Pastoral Education, a hospital chaplaincy internship that is required for candidates for the Unitarian Universalist ministry. And I saw the Ministerial Fellowship Committee (they’re the national panel that credentials Unitarian Universalist ministers) and I passed with flying colors.

All of which leads up to what’s going on now: I’m entering search. In other words, I am seeking a congregation to serve next year. In this, I’ll be joined by dozens of other UU ministers, and at the same time there are a number of congregations seeking a minister for next year, too. It’s a bit like online dating; we’re about to share something of who we are, and see who’s interested back. From there, it’s meeting in person and eventually making a commitment.

But for now, it means sprucing up myself, writing a good introduction, and making this website look good for search committees who want to find out something about me: take a look around at the site.

Soon, search will mean serious discernment; what congregations might be a fit with my ministry, and which ones might be interested in me? These are questions that will likely occupy me for the next few months, and they’re important ones.

I hope that all of us are considering what we might be called to, though for most that’s not ministry! I feel blessed to have this special time to consider my calling again, and to engage in a journey with congregations that are hard at work discerning who they are and where they want to go. As always, I’m excited about the work I get to do, and I’m looking forward to the chance to talk about with it a whole new group of people.

Comments are closed.

