This whole blogging thing

I’m new to this blogging and having a website thing. Afreefaith only began in March, and the last two weeks have been the first time I have put a lot of time and effort into it at all, making a number of posts and adding pages and information to the site as a whole. I have a few people checking it out, which makes me happy.

Which brings me to this: I have a little background in design, but it’s all of the print newspaper variety. Which means I know what I like, and how I want things to look. I just lack the knowhow and ability to make it look that way. WordPress is very easy, but it takes more knowledge than I have (also, I don’t want to pay for any upgrades, frankly) to do everything I would like to.

Finding a theme I like has taken a while. I looked through a few hundred, and I have used these three:

I started with the theme on the left, Elegant Grunge, then briefly went to Greyzed, the middle theme, and now I’m using Andrea. It has a clean look, nice typography, and I like the color scheme. I know that many readers dislike the dark background with light text look, but I love it. Andrea has variable width, which means it should display on various browsers well, despite the size of the screen, zoom, etc.

I’m in the process of putting together the rest of the site, which is very much a work in progress. Basically, I’m looking for feedback, here, folks. Let me know what you like, hate, if things should be moved around, etc. I can use the help.

Comments are closed.

