The joy of marriage

I have been married for a little more than 10 months now, and it’s awesome. I can say that with no hesitation at all. Being married to Kristin is way better than not being married, and I know for a fact that she feels the same way. She’s out of the country for a couple weeks on a church trip, and I miss her terribly despite daily phone calls and Skype video chats (Skype makes being apart a little better). At some point, I will probably write more about us, but that’s for another time.

Thoughts about marriage, including my own, were brought home to me again today as I officiated—well, filled in for the person who will be doing the officiating, I suppose—at two wedding rehearsals this week, as a favor for a colleague and to make a few extra bucks. Both the couples seemed lovely and the locations were gorgeous. Both were outdoors at locations that are set up to do weddings. I don’t know what they cost, but it just might be worth it.

In my still barely-beginning experience of doing ministry, officiating at weddings is one of the coolest things we get to do (right up with conducting worship and having the privilege to chaplain to the sick, maybe just behind getting to visit and bless new babies). I love weddings, and being a calm presence in what is often a chaotic, stressful, and joyous experience, is one of the great gifts we can give.

In Texas, I was authorized to conduct marriages, and I had the great chance to officiate two weddings in which I was good friends with the couples. In Massachusetts, where I now live, only ordained ministers can officiate, so helping out with rehearsals for a colleague is about the closest I can get. Still, it’s wonderful.

I strongly believe in the importance, the sanctity, and the beauty of marriage. Two people pledging their lives to each other is an amazing thing. The fact that I get to participate in that, even in some small way, is something I never take for granted and treasure each time.

Comments are closed.

